Lee Hsien Loong awarded Best Prime Minister In S’pore In 2016

Posted on 12 November 2016

He has been winning award consistently every year since 2004 when he first became PM.


Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has won the Best Prime Minister In Singapore In 2016 award.

This after he was voted as the best prime minister in Singapore this year, having won in 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015.

He has been winning the award each year since 2004, when he first took office in December that year. Within a month of first becoming prime minister, he took home the award and has been doing so annually since then.

One Singaporean, Guan Jun, said: “This award is similar to the annual journalism award event Mediacorp hosts, where Mediacorp wins big.”

“It is also similar to how The Straits Times celebrates the Nielsen media survey that reveals it is still the most-read English newspaper each year.”

“Being able to compete with yourself every year and coming out tops credibly is always not easy.”

Other locals said they must not be too quick to dismiss such awards as they serve an important purpose.

Shenre Kuaile, another local, said: “We can just mentally substitute ‘Best’ and ‘Most-read’ with ‘Happy Birthday’.”

“Basically, it is a reminder that another year has past and it is anniversary time again.”

“We shall see next year who wins again.”







This post was written by:

- who has written 2582 posts on New Nation.

Wang Pei can be considered a new citizen of Singapore. She has been here all her life, just that her environment's changed beyond recognition.

Contact the author

Trending Travel Videos